Hello World

TMXM7156

Hello! Welcome to my first attempt at blogging! My husband and I just returned from an epic trip to Iceland, and I thought I’d try my hand at blogging about our experience. I love all aspects of traveling…the research phase…etching out the itinerary…to actually doing the dang thang! I am freakishly detail-oriented so pretty much every aspect of our trips are planned out in advance so we can get the most out of our time wherever we are. I know there are lots of free spirits out there that like to fly by the seat of their pants as they travel, but that would probably give me a panic attack! Thankfully, my husband is super playful and adventurous so no matter how mapped out I am, he normally creates detours and spontaneous moments to throw a wrench in my perfectly laid out plans. Ha! Actually, my first piece of travel advice follows this lovely little quote:

“It doesn’t matter where you’re going, it’s who you have beside you.”

I have no clue who said that, but it’s true! Wherever you are thinking about exploring, make sure you have the right traveling companion. Ben is like the jelly to my peanut butter when we are traveling, and I couldn’t think of a better other half to our traveling duo.

So, back to the blog. In addition to my love for travel, I am also a licensed professional counselor in my day-to-day life. You may have noticed that I named the blog “mentalities” and you may have even wondered what the heck that has to do with our trip to Iceland. Well, I’ve had the idea of starting a website for a while discussing different counseling topics and different perspectives about life. I’m a really big fan of counseling and how it can change your mentality and help you to see things more clearly. Likewise, I have found that travel is my therapy. Travel gives me clarity and perspective in my circumstances when I am just a tiny dot in a vast, unfamiliar world. I am hoping to use this blog to fuse my love of both of these worlds! I hope you enjoy this journey with me!

Lots of love,

Angel

Leave a Reply

